Warrior Dash 2012 Hawaii

When I signed up for the Warrior Dash, I don’t know what I was thinking or expecting.  I knew it was going to involve mud, but due to the rainy weather, it was extra muddy! Runners were slipping and falling immediately after the start line.  My goal was not to slip or eat shit in the 3.2 mile course.  But inevitably, I had to get down and dirty on all fours, crawl in the mud,  balance on a slipper beam, crawl across nets, go down a fire pole. crawl under barbed wires in two feet mud water towards the finish line while someone douse you with a hose …but I have to be honest, I did skip a few challenges.  Even my pride won’t let me do stunts I know would probably get me hurt.  I heard a few people fell and broke bones…ouch.  However, I did not come out unscathed.  I scraped my knees and my palm bled after the crawl under the fish net.  Being a bit of a germophobe and a nurse, I couldn’t help but think about microbes, lepto, etc.  I spent an hour in the hot shower scrubbing over and over and probably shampooed and rinsed my hair at least 3-4 times.  Would I do it again next year?  Mmmm…maybe

This is me(semi-clean) after rinsing in the muddy lake. The water was surprisingly warm…Aimee said “because people peed in it!” eww gross I don’t even wanna know…I don’t drink beer, but I actually enjoyed a cold beer after the run

Mother nature decided it would be more fun to have us run in the rain

Soaking wet before the race even started

After photo…time to get our beer!

Yay!!!

Mmmmm cold beer tastes so good when you’re tired and muddy

Aimee in her warrior ? pose and Natalie…what were you trying to do Nat? haha ❤

Ikaika! You look nude with your muddy speedos

8 thousand registered for the mud and beer fun

Fun over…

Leave a comment